DUI Insurance in North Carolina
DUI Insurance in Wilmington, NC and Throughout Coastal North Carolina
Mistakes happen, but if you do get a DUI, you need to make sure you get the best possible insurance rate through those three years. Your car insurance rates after a DUI charge in North Carolina could go up as much as 60%, depending on the company you choose!A DUI charge can wreak havoc on auto insurance rates and make it harder for you and your family to find good auto insurance coverage in North Carolina at an affordable rate. A DWI conviction is charged as 12 insurance points and the general rule is: the more insurance points, the more premium that is charged. Typically, these kinds of charges affect your auto insurance rates for the 3 years following.There isn’t insurance you can get to protect against a DUI before it happens, and it’s not a question of “IF” your insurance cost will go up after a conviction, it will go up and it’s your job to make sure you have the best insurance rates if you receive a DUI.
DUI Sentencing Terms
Aggravating Factors: This is what you do at the DUI Checkpoint or traffic stop. Depending on your actions and reactions to authorities, your sentencing could be more severe than you’d like it to be.
Some good examples of bad things to do in this situation would be:
- Refusal to submit to breath analyzer tests
- Presence of minors in your vehicle
- Open containers and/or possession of illegal substances
- Resisting arrest
- Previous convictions of a DUI
- And more, of course
Mitigating Factors: Circumstances that may reduce your sentence.
If you’re really just a good guy (or gal), and this was just all a fluke, you may get a reduced sentence through character references, willingness to comply to alcohol education classes or treatment, or military service. Just don’t do it again!
BAC: Blood alcohol content
In North Carolina, and the rest of the U.S. for that matter, the legal limit for driving under the influence is .08% BAC for a DUI (driving under the influence) or DWI (driving while impaired/intoxicated). A DUI and DWI may seem like they’re one and the same thing to most. But in reality, it all depends on the state or jurisdiction. Read more about the differences here.
A breathalyzer mechanism installed on your dashboard. In order for the ignition to turn over, so you can start driving, you have to breath into it so it can make sure you haven’t been driving.
Alcohol Education Programs:
You will most likely be required to enroll in an alcohol education program within 21 days of your first court hearing…. fun.
Of course, there’s a lot of other unavoidable things that come with a DUI charge that go beyond the fines, court dates, and inconveniences. North Carolina Coastal Insurance is here to ease your pain IF you (and we hope you don’t) get stopped for driving under the influence. So, scroll up and get a hassle-free quote for DUI Insurance, or just give us a call at (910)591-1010!
- North Carolina DUI laws
- DUI Arrests by State – Project Know compiled a list of average DUI arrests for each state in the U.S. in 2013 based on information from the FBI.
Give the experts at NC Coastal Insurance a call to get a quote today!
Complete the form below for a FREE quote on DUI Insurance.